Illinois State University Administrative / Professional Council

1:15-3:00 pm; Thursday, April 24, 2008 314 SSB

MINUTES

Council Members present - Mboka Mwilambwe, Mindy Mangialardi, Nikki Brauer, Becky Mentzer, Anjie Almeda, Michelle Schuline, Teri Farr, Melissa Moody, Debbie Lamb, Maureen Smith, Erin Pearce and Alex Skorpinski

Ex-Officio Members present -Stacy Ramsey, Rachel Calhoun, and Len Grinstead

Guests - Deb Smitley, Jan Murphy, Steve Klay, and Angela Engel

Approval of minutes – April 10, 2008 minutes were approved with corrections -Motion made by Michelle Schuline, second by Teri Farr.

Educating Illinois – Deb Smitley announced to the Council that changes had been made in the Education Illinois document (Goal 1 split into students and broader categories), Goals 3 and 4 combined as they were very similar. Structural changes were also made, moving the document to a goal – strategy – activities to carry forth the strategy. A team will be organized to determine accountability and campus departments will be involved in this process.

Chair's remarks – Mboka Mwilambwe

Mboka shared with the Council members he will meet with President Bowman on 4/26, please send discussion items to him in advance. Daphne Walker is the A/P representative from CAST for the CAST Dean search. The brown bag detailing the active shooter scenario was successful and could be also offered to campus departments if requested.

Committee/Representative Reports

- Elections no report
- **Foundation** Larry Lyons no report
- Scholarship Debbie Lamb Committee will meet in early May
- CCC no report
- Academic Senate no report
- **HR Liaison** no report
- **Constitution** no report
- Awards- no report

Business/Discussion Items:

- **Grievance Policy** tabled for discussion at 5/8/08 meeting
- Academic Senate Representative Ron Gifford is willing to serve another term, motion to reappoint made by Maureen Smith and second by Becky Mentzer
- Educating Illinois vote for Council's endorsement of the final document will be conducted via email.
- Adjournment Motion for adjournment by Debbie Lamb and seconded by Erin Pearce.
- Next meeting 5/8/08 in the Spotlight Room. President Bowman will be the featured guest.