Illinois State University **Administrative / Professional Council**

1:15-3:00 pm; Thursday, July 22, 2010 BSC Spotlight Room

MINUTES

Council Members present - Mboka Mwilambwe, Anjie Almeda, Julie Huber, Debbie Lamb, Nikki Brauer, Michelle Schuline, Ryan Gray, and Alex Skorpinski

Ex-Officio Members present – Rachel Calhoun, Megan Prentice, Larry Lyons and David Rardin

Approval of minutes –April 22, 2010; May 27, 2010; June 10, 2010 minutes were approved with motion by Nikki Brauer, second by Michelle Schuline

Chair's remarks – Mboka commented on the communication from President Bowman regarding the 2.5% merit increase noting that President Bowman had emphasized that he didn't want to go two years without raises and felt it to be important for campus morale. Mboka welcomed Megan Prentice who will be replacing Melanie Schaafsma as the HR liaison to the Council. Mboka also mentioned that he has contacted Jennifer Frobish from the College of Business to replace Dave Rardin as the CCC representative. Mboka reminded all to spread the word: social hour at Medici at 5pm on July 30, 2010.

Committee/Representative Reports

- **Elections** –Teri Farr not present
- **Programming** Julie Huber no report
- Academic Senate Erik Rankin –not present
- **Foundation** Larry Lyons next board meeting 10/14/10, minutes at: http://apcouncil.illinoisstate.edu/representatives/representation.shtml
- Scholarship Debbie Lamb see business items
- CCC David Rardin –BOT coffee hour (tomorrow) will include presentation by uptown Normal Mayor and City Manager
- **HR Liaison** Megan Prentice no report
- Awards- Rachel Calhoun no report

Business/Discussion Items –

- **AP Column in ISU report** Kathy Beal has asked for the Council to write a column for the REPORT three times per year, starting this fall. Topics will include programming, scholarship and awards. Ryan Gray was nominated to Chair this project, motion made by Anjie Almeda, second by Nikki Brauer.
- **AP Scholarship Recipients** Recommendation for four recipients were brought to the Council for approval; motion by Nikki Brauer, second by Julie Huber. Recipients will be acknowledged at the Homecoming F/S luncheon, on the website, the REPORT. Debbie Lamb will contact the recipients
- **Social** –Friday, 7/30/10 5pm at Medici

Adjournment – Motion to adjourn by Nikki Brauer, second by Michelle Schuline

Next meeting – August 12, 2010 in BSC Spotlight Room

Future Guests: August 26 Erin Minné, Vice President University Advancement

September 9 Dan Layzell re: Master Plan

September 23 Chuck Scott & Eric Hodges re: Electronic Door Access