Illinois State University Administrative / Professional Council

1:15-3:00 pm; Thursday, July 24, 2008 SSB 314

MINUTES

Council Members present - Mboka Mwilambwe, Mindy Mangialardi, Nikki Brauer, Pam Cooper, Debbie Lamb, Becky Mentzer, Michelle Schuline, Melissa Moody, Maureen Smith, Erin Pearce and Alex Skorpinski

Ex-Officio Members present –Stacy Ramsey, Rachel Calhoun, Ron Gifford, Len Grinstead and Larry Lyons

Approval of minutes – June 12, 2008 minutes were approved -Motion made by Debbie Lamb second by Ron Gifford.

Chair's remarks – Mboka met with President Bowman several times since the last council meeting. Discussion included budget – final budget has not yet been approved by the Governor, President Bowman still wants to issue raises, but is uncertain at this time as to the amount. President Bowman detailed that University Advancement raised over \$10M in private funds this year of which \$8.5M was cash. There are nine major construction projects on campus, only one of which is funded by the state. There were 3400 students who attended Preview, enrollment goal is 3300 with a total enrollment goal of 20,500 students. The Recreation/Kinesiology building has been delayed due to the rising cost of materials. President Bowman will ask for additional funds at the BOT meeting on 7/25/08. Provost Sheri Everts will be the guest of the A/P Council on 8/28/08; Mboka sent an email on behalf of the A/P staff to welcome her to campus. Incoming A/P council members will begin their term at the 8/14/08 meeting, outgoing council members are Mindy Mangialardi and Nikki Brauer. Mboka also reported that the A/P Council Chair will be the representative chair for the CCC in the upcoming academic year.

Committee/Representative Reports

- Elections Mindy Mangialardi Mindy and Nikki Brauer are the two outgoing council members. Mindy reported that a slate of officers for the upcoming year will be presented at the 8/14/08 meeting.
- **Foundation** Larry Lyons see attached report
- Scholarship –Debbie Lamb –Council received 6 applications for A/P scholarship, with 4 recipients selected. Motion to accept recipients as presented by Mindy Mangialardi, second by Ron Gifford. An announcement will be placed in the Report and on the A/P Council website. Recipients and their parents will also be highlighted at the Faculty Staff appreciation lunch during Homecoming.
- CCC Stacy Ramsey see attached letter
- Academic Senate Ron Gifford no report

- **HR Liaison** Len Grinstead PeopleSoft is the HRIS vendor that has been forwarded to the BOT for their approval at the 7/25/08 meeting
- **Constitution** Stacy Ramsey revisions in progress.
- **Awards** Rachel Calhoun working to update names of A/P Distinguished Award winners on plaque in the BSC.

Business/Discussion Items:

- Outgoing Members plaques presented to Mindy Mangialardi and Nikki Brauer with sincere gratitude for the time and years of service given to the A/P Council. Photos to be posted on the A/P Council website.
- **Adjournment** Motion for adjournment by Michelle Schuline and seconded by Mindy Mangialardi
- **Next meeting** 8/14/08 in the SSB 314