## Illinois State University Administrative / Professional Council

1:15-3:00 pm; Thursday, July 9, 2009 Spotlight Room

## **MINUTES**

**Council Members present -** Mboka Mwilambwe, Stacy Ramsey, Pam Cooper, Teri Farr, Julie Huber, Debbie Lamb, Becky Mentzer, Melissa Moody, Erin Pearce, Michelle Schuline and Alex Skorpinski

Ex-Officio Members present – Rachel Calhoun, Len Grinstead and David Rardin

**Approval of minutes** – June 11, 2009 minutes were approved with corrections -Motion made by Pam Cooper second by Debbie Lamb

**Chair's remarks** – Mboka shared the following information with the Council: Mboka announced that Susan Baker-Bach agreed to serve on the grievance panel and Imran Jalozie agreed to serve as the A/P representative on the Parking Committee as well. Names have been submitted to Vice President Dianne Ashby to be considered for the A/P representative on the search committee for the Associate VP for Human Resources. Mboka is also working on the presentation for the CCC at the 7/31/09 BOT meeting. Mboka will meet again with President Bowman 7/21/09, please submit questions to him via email.

## **Committee/Representative Reports**

- Elections Anjie Almeda not present
- **Programming** –Erin Pearce no report
- Academic Senate Ron Gifford not present
- Foundation Larry Lyons not present
- Scholarship Debbie Lamb see business discussion items
- CCC David Rardin –7/31/09 meeting, letter topic for coffee hour will be entrepreneurship
- **HR Liaison** Len Grinstead VP Business Finance & Planning search is currently on track and candidates will be on campus soon. Post Offer- Pre-hire Physicals will be required for new hires (not extra help) for specific categories as identified by HR. Criminal Background checks will be completed electronically by the people admin for all final candidates for security sensitive jobs.
- **Constitution** Stacy Ramsey see business discussion items
- Awards- Rachel Calhoun no report

## **Business/Discussion Items:**

- Scholarship Applicants: Scholarship award winners have been selected and were presented to the Council. 10 applicants, one not eligible, but referred to the Civil Service Scholarship web application. 4 presented to Council, Motion to approve by Stacy Ramsey, second by Erin Pearce. Debbie will notify all recipients and applicants of the selection. Recommendation was made for min/max word limit on written essay for next year. Award winners will be announced at the Homecoming Luncheon.
- Constitution Review and discussion of additions and changes in proposed constitution. Edits will be reviewed at the 7/23/09 meeting and then posted to the website for vote of A/P community.

Adjournment – Motion for adjournment by David Rardin and seconded by Erin Pearce

**Next meeting** – 7/23/2009 in SSB 314