Illinois State University Administrative / Professional Council

1:15-3:00 pm; Thursday, August 12, 2010 BSC Spotlight Room

MINUTES

Council Members present - Stacy Ramsey, Teri Farr, Anjie Almeda, Pam Cooper, Ron Gifford, Ryan Gray, Julie Huber, Debbie Lamb, Soemer Simmons, and Alex Skorpinski

Ex-Officio Members present – Rachel Calhoun, Larry Lyons, Megan Prentice, and Jennifer Frobish

Presentation and election of slate of officers for 2010-2011 – slate of officers presented for 2010-2011 was Stacy Ramsey - Chair; Teri Farr – Vice Chair; Rachel Calhoun – Secretary. After discussion, motion made by Anjie Almeda, second by Pam Cooper.

Presentation of Awards to outgoing members – awards were given to outgoing members for their dedicated service to the Council – Mboka Mwilambwe, David Rardin, Michelle Schuline, and Erin Pearce.

Approval of minutes –July 22, 2010 minutes were approved with corrections with motion by Pam Cooper, second by Ron Gifford

Guest: Barb Todd & Beth Snyder on AP Scholarship – discussion continued on setting up a fund account to allow additional financial contributions to the AP Scholarship in addition to what the Foundation Board contributes. A goal of \$1000 was proposed, with commitments desired prior to the spring Foundation Board meeting. Barb Todd thanked Mboka for his work on this and Council concurred. Council agreed that a list of donors would be published on the AP Council website. Debbie Lamb would do interviews with parents and former scholarship recipients to publish on the scholarship section of the website as well. Once a fund number has been created, a giving link will also be included on the Council website.

Chair's remarks – Stacy thanked Council members for their support and selection of her as Chair and let the members know that goals for the upcoming year will be discussed at the next meeting (to include approving revisions to the constitution and the \$1000 goal for the AP Scholarship.)

Committee/Representative Reports

- Academic Senate Erik Rankin –not present
- **AP Column** Ryan Gray first column is due to Kathy Beal in Media Relations on 8/31. Ryan will include information on leadership changes, goals, new members, website updates, scholarship goal, AP social and AP involvement opportunities in Homecoming
- Elections Anjie Almeda & Teri Farr no report
- **Programming** Nikki Brauer & Julie Huber & Teri Farr no report
- **Foundation** Larry Lyons no report
- Scholarship –Debbie Lamb –all recipients have been contacted, photos are on AP website
- CCC Jennifer Frobish –no report, next BOT meeting is in October
- **HR Liaison** Megan Prentice list of new AP employees for welcome letters will be given to Chair in September and January
- Awards- Rachel Calhoun no report

Business/Discussion Items –

- Committee Assignments:
 - o **Elections** Anjie Almeda & Pam Cooper
 - o **Programming** Nikki Brauer, Julie Huber & Teri Farr
 - o **Parking** Emily Vigneri, Sheri Zeck
 - o **AP Column** Ryan Gray
 - o Grievance Panel -
 - o Scholarship Debbie Lamb, Rachel Calhoun, Ron Gifford, Maureen Smith
 - o Constitution Stacy Ramsey, Nikki Brauer, Ron Gifford, Mboka Mwilambwe
 - o Awards Rachel Calhoun
 - o Master Plan Mboka Mwilambwe & Larry Lyons
- **Homecoming** homecoming parade is Saturday, October 16th. Stacy asked Council members to consider walking in the parade. Other suggestions were made, such as setting up a drink stand on the parade route or participating in the tailgate. More discussion needed and decision to be made at 8/26 meeting
- **Social** –Friday, 8/27/10 5pm at Medici

Adjournment – Motion to adjourn by Debbie Lamb, second by Julie Huber

Next meeting – September 9, 2010 in BSC Spotlight Room

Future Guests: August 26 Erin Minné, Vice President University Advancement

September 9 Dan Layzell re: Master Plan

September 23 Chuck Scott & Eric Hodges re: Electronic Door Access