ILLINOIS STATE UNIVERSITY

Administrative/Professional Council Meeting August 25, 2005

Spotlight Room, Bone Student Center

Council members present: Donna Banner, Nikki Brauer, Deb Gentry, Kim Hays, Steve Klay,

Mindy Mangialardi, Rick Olshak, Sally Pyne, Jess Ray,

Mark Vegter

Ex-officio members present: Paul Jarvis, Larry Lyons, Mboka Mwilambwe, Maureen Smith

Guests: Nancy Spangler, Human Resources

Council Chair, Mindy Mangialardi, called the meeting to order at 1:15 p.m.

Approval of minutes

The Council approved the minutes of the August 11 meeting, as submitted. Minutes of meetings are available on the Council Web site, http://www.apcouncil.ilstu.edu/.

Chair's Remarks - Mindy Mangialardi

- Mangialardi shared that she had met with President Bowman recently. He indicated that
 he was pleased with the current fundraising efforts, as well as the reorganization taking
 place in University Advancement.
- Plans to have Illinois State's new Athletic Director, Dr. Sheahon Zenger, attend a Council meeting are in the works
- Ira Schoenwald has requested to attend a meeting to discuss various A/P processes

HR Liaison Remarks - Kaye Johnson

No report.

Committee Reports

No reports.

Business

• **Election of Officers** – A slate of potential officers was presented by outgoing Council members Deb Gentry and Gail Lamb. They included:

Chair Mindy Mangialardi

Vice-Chair Jess Ray and Annette States Levitt

Secretary Steve Klay

Following discussion and balloting, it was announced that the A/P Council 2005-06

Executive Board would be:

Chair Mindy Mangialardi Vice-Chair Annette States Levitt

Secretary Steve Klay

Committee Members for 2005-06

Elected Representatives – The following elected representatives will continue to

serve for this year:

Joint Awards Committee Maureen Smith

Team Excellence Award Committee Maureen Smith
Campus Communication Committee Paul Jarvis
Foundation Board Larry Lyons

Appointments – These individuals have represented the Council on the following committees, and will continue to serve for the 2005-06 academic year:

HIPAA Paul Jarvis
150th Anniversary Kris Harding
University Sick Leave Bank Jeff Lopez
Parking Rick Lewis

Academic Senate Mboka Mwilambwe

Mangialardi shared that our position on the Campus Web Planning and Advisory Committee was currently vacant. Annette States Levitt volunteered to serve in that role.

Committees of the A/P Council – The following represent the internal committees of the A/P Council. Mangialardi requested that Council members consider on which they might like to serve for this year.

Awards Committee

Elections Committee

A/P Constitution Review Committee

A/P Resource and Referral Committee

A/P Communication Committee

• Chair's Committee Responsibilities

Mangialardi shared that, as part of her responsibilities as Chair of the A/P Council, she will be serving on the following University committees:

Campus Communication Committee (CCC) (she will also be serving as Chair of the CCC)

Educating Illinois Steering Committee

Executive Committee for the Committee on Diversity

Adjournment

The Council adjourned at 2:25 p.m. Moved and seconded by Amy Roser and Kim Hays, respectively.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven Klay, Secretary

Future 2005 Meetings

All meetings will begin at 1:15 p.m., and take place in the Spotlight Room in the Bone Student Center.

September 8

September 22

October 13

October 27

November 17

December 15