## **ILLINOIS STATE UNIVERSITY**

# Administrative/Professional Council Meeting August 26, 2004 1:15 p.m.

Spotlight Room, Bone Student Center

**Council members present:** Mike Baum, Elaine Graybill, Kim Hays, Steve Klay, Gail Lamb, Mindy Mangialardi, Amy Mersinger, Sally Pyne, Jess Ray, Mark Vegter

**Ex-officio members present:** Paul Jarvis, Kaye Johnson, Mboka Mwilambwe, Maureen Smith

## Approval of minutes

The Council approved the minutes of the August 12 meeting as submitted.

#### Chair's Remarks - Paul Jarvis

- In his last meeting as Chair, Jarvis offered thanks to the Council for their support. He believes that this has been a productive year, with many accomplishments of which the Council should be very proud.
- Jarvis reported that he had met with President Bowman for their "regular" meeting. Much of their discussion centered on the President's comments in his welcome letter. Jarvis also reminded the Council of the upcoming "State of the University" address on September 8.
- Jarvis continues to meet as part of the Educating Illinois coordinating committee. Their last meeting provided information regarding the American Democracy Project. It has been recommended that a link to the Project's website be provided via the Council's website. It has also been requested that a link be provided to the Green Team website.
- Finally, Jarvis reminded the Council of the upcoming accreditation process, which includes the campus visit that will take place in February. Council members should be prepared to support and participate in this process.

# <u>Liaison Remarks</u> – Kaye Johnson

Johnson expressed her appreciation to the Council for their work during this last academic year, and particularly acknowledged the outgoing Council members. She also reported that we are still awaiting word on the A/P Council budget for '05.

### **Business**

### 1. Election of Officers for 2004-2005 – Paul Jarvis

In accordance with the Council Constitution, the outgoing members of the Council met and have proposed the following slate of officers for the upcoming year:

Chair Mindy Mangialardi
Vice-Chair Elaine Graybill
Secretary Steve Klay

Mike Baum moved and Amy Mersinger seconded that the slate be accepted as submitted. Jarvis entertained any nominations from the floor, of which there were none. The slate was then accepted by a unanimous vote. Mindy Mangialardi assumed the role of Council Chair and presided over the remainder of the meeting.

## 2. Committee Membership for 2004-2005 – Mindy Mangialardi

The committees of the Council for 2004-2005, as well as their membership, are as follows:

## a. Committees of the A/P Council

- Awards Committee Maureen Smith (elected) A representative from the Council is still needed.
- Elections Committee Mike Schermer elections officer. Two representatives from the Council, who will not be standing for office in the next election, are still needed.
- A/P Constitution and Review Committee Annette Levitt
- A/P Resource Referral Committee Annette Levitt and Sally Pyne

## b. Elected Representatives through A/P Elections

- Campus Communication Committee Paul Jarvis (elected) and A/P Council Chair
- Joint Awards Committee Maureen Smith
- Team Excellence Award Committee Maureen Smith
- ISU Foundation Board Joe Rives (elected)

## c. Appointed Representatives by A/P Council

- Academic Senate A/P Representative Mboka Mwilambwe
- Parking and Transportation Advisory Committee
- Barb Todd (2007), Rick Lewis (2006), Betty Kinser (2005)
- Campus Web Planning and Advisory Committee Mike Baum
- University Sick Leave Bank Jeff Lopez
- 150<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Committee Kris Harding
- HIPAA Sanctions Committee Paul Jarvis

Mangialardi expressed her appreciation to those who have already agreed to serve in these capacities, and indicated those committees that still need additional members. Kim Hays volunteered to serve as the Council's representative to the Award's Committee. Steve Klay and Annette Levitt volunteered to serve on the Elections Committee.

In other election-related matters, Levitt will approach Mike Schermer regarding his interest in returning as the Election Officer. That committee will also explore identifying an A/P staff member to "shadow" Schermer this year to learn about this position.

Deb Gentry volunteered to serve along with Levitt on the Constitution Review Committee. Levitt indicated that Julie Goodlick, a former member of the Council, was also interested in serving on this committee. Levitt shared that their goal is to have materials for the Council to review in time for inclusion in the next A/P election.

## **Other Business**

- Amy Mersinger called attention to the "welcome letter from the Chair", which is currently available on the Academic Senate website. She proposed that the Council may want to draft a similar letter outlining the issues and goals for the upcoming year. Mangialardi agreed and indicated that the Executive Board would meet soon to discuss the options.
- Annette Levitt inquired of Kaye Johnson for an update on the University's response to the new federal FLSA statute. She responded that the State of Illinois has only adopted the salary minimum of \$455/week of the new federal FLSA statute and has not adopted the classification portion. It is challenging that there are two statutes and a fair amount of uncertainty on what constitutes compliance because of the approach Illinois has taken. The University is examining the statute, consulting with our labor attorneys and watching for DOL opinion letters in order to gain clarification. The only certain piece is the minimum salary requirement. HR has identified all CS and A/P

employees who fall below the new salary minimum and will be working with administration and affected departments in order to comply with that portion of the new law.

# Adjournment

The Council adjourned at 1:55 p.m. Moved and seconded by Deb Gentry and Kim Hays.

Respectfully submitted, Steven Klay, Secretary

# **Future 2004 Meetings**

September 9 314 SSB

September 23 Spotlight Room

October 14 314 SSB

October 28 Spotlight Room

November 18 Spotlight Room

December 16 Spotlight Room