Skip to main content

Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes a new A/P staff member whose professional performance has shown tremendous promise for and commitment to the University community.

The winner of this award will receive a $500 one-time cash award.

Application Process

For full consideration, complete the nomination form and upload a written nomination detailing the criteria below. One additional letter of support outlining a detailed account of the staff member’s contributions is required. Letters of recommendation may be requested from individuals inside and/or outside the University. Letter can be attached via the online form or emailed to  Wilma Bates . Nominations for 2022 will be accepted from November 16, 2022, through December 9, 2022.


  • A/P staff member
  • Employed at University for more than 1 year but less than 5 years
  • Shows outstanding professional performance toward a University goal or project
  • Involved in leadership activities within the University and/or local community
  • Demonstrates evidence of cross unit/division collaboration outside the normal scope of the employee's job responsibilities

Previous Recipients

  • 2022

    Brittney Vietti

  • 2021

    Amy Dennison, Lauren Hardy

  • 2020

    Jenna Koons, Emily McMahon

  • 2019

    Wilma Bates, Rachel Kobus

  • 2018

    Katherine Birdsall, Yimin Wang

  • 2017

    Colleen Rice

  • 2016

    Nathan Carpenter, Amy Oberts

  • 2015

    LB Lyons

  • 2014

    Matthew Murray

  • 2013

    Kari Murphy

  • 2012

    Tracy Wehrle

  • 2011

    Lindsay Vahl

  • 2010

    Enid Cardinal

  • 2009

    Pat Walsh

  • 2008

    Jamie Sennett